+94 24 222 0269 | headphy@vau.ac.lk

Dr. S. Kirushanth

Senior Lecturer Gr. II
Head, Department of Physical Science
  +94 24 222 0269


The Department of Physical Science was established in 1997, coinciding with the inception of the Faculty of Applied Science at the Vavuniya Campus of the University of Jaffna (at present University of Vavuniya). Initially, the department offered course units for a degree program called Applied Mathematics and Computing. However, in 2006, the Information and Communication Technology (ICT) degree program was introduced to cater to students from all streams of the advanced level education.

Over time, the Applied Mathematics and Computing degree program underwent revisions. It was divided into a three-year (General) degree program named Applied Mathematics and Computing and a four-year (Honours) degree program named Computer Science.

The primary objective of the department is to provide undergraduate students with contemporary knowledge in Mathematics and Statistics, Computer Science, and Information Technology. This is achieved through a combination of coursework, practical classes, industrial training, and research projects.

In 2018, the Information and Communication Technology program was revised and renamed as the Information Technology degree program. Starting from the academic year 2017/18, the department has been offering course units for various undergraduate programs, including the Bachelor of Science in Applied Mathematics and Computing, Bachelor of Science Honours in Computer Science, Bachelor of Science in Information Technology, and Bachelor of Science Honours in Information Technology. These programs adhere to the Outcomes-Based Education and Learning-Centered Teaching (OBE-LCT) approach, the Sri Lanka Qualification Framework (SLQF), the guidelines provided by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers-Association for Computing Machinery (IEEE-ACM), and the Sri Lanka Standards for Information Technology (SBS-IT).